| Crescendo virtuoso

Violin




Frédéric Pelassy, violin

Virtuoso masterpieces for solo violin

Bach, Prokoviev, Ysaye, Paganini

| Programme

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Partita n° 2 BWV 1004

Sergei Prokoviev (1891-1953)
Sonata Opus 115

Eugène Ysaye (1858-1931)
“Ballade” Third sonata in one movement
Fourth sonata

Niccolo Paganini (1782-1840)
Capricci Opus 1 n°1,9,11 and 24


All of the literature for solo violin is dominated by the enormity of Johann Sebastian Bach. Written in 1720, his Sonatas and Partitas stand out as a kind of culmination of what the four strings of a violin are capable of expressing in terms of melody, rhythm and harmony.

However, as time goes on, the demonstrative virtuosity of the instrument asserts itself in the pursuit of another level. In the lineage of Corelli or Locatelli, Paganini composes with his notorious trademark of being particularly difficult to perform.

In 1923 Eugène Ysaÿe, a renowned violin virtuoso of his time, raises the genre to new heights by producing his “Six Sonatas for solo violin”, illustrating the technical maturity of the art of the violin and exploring new polyphonic spaces.

It is significant that Ysaye, just like Prokofiev or Bartok a few years later, will not hesitate to place his work in Bach’s wake. The harmonic language remains profoundly marked, although it is very different as a result of the historical context.

Thus the four strings of a violin, skimming through two centuries of compositions written for them, throw the listener into a multi-faceted universe of sound: a journey weaving through history of the western music.

| Crescendo virtuoso

Violon




Frédéric Pelassy, violon

Chefs-d’oeuvre virtuoses pour violon seul

Bach, Prokoviev, Ysaye, Paganini

| Programme

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Partita n° 2 BWV 1004

Sergei Prokoviev (1891-1953)
Sonate Opus 115

Eugène Ysaye (1858-1931)
« Ballade » Troisième sonate en un seul mouvement
Quatrième sonate

Niccolo Paganini (1782-1840)
Caprices Opus 1 n°1,9,11 et 24


Toute la littérature pour violon seul est dominée par le gigantisme de Jean Sébastien Bach. Ecrites en 1720, ses sonates et partitas marquent une sorte d’apogée de ce que les quatre cordes d’un violon sont capables d’exprimer sur le plan mélodique, rythmique et harmonique.

Au fil du temps cependant, la virtuosité instrumentale ostensible s’affirme comme une ligne de recherche supplémentaire. Dans la lignée de Corelli ou Locatelli, Paganini signe des compositions d’une difficulté d’exécution particulièrement notoire.

En 1923, Eugène Ysaÿe, virtuose du violon encensé de son temps, donne de nouvelles lettres de noblesse au genre en signant ses Six Sonates pour violon seul, illustrant la maturité technique de l’art du violon et explorant de nouveaux espaces polyphoniques.

De façon significative, Ysaye comme Prokofiev ou Bartok quelques années plus tard, n’hésiteront pas à placer leur œuvre dans le sillage de Bach. Le langage harmonique reste profondément marqué, bien que très différent de par le contexte historique.

Ainsi les quatre cordes d’un violon, en survolant deux siècles de compositions écrites pour elles, projettent l’auditeur dans un univers sonore aux facettes multiples: un voyage au fil de l’histoire de la musique occidentale.