|Three aspects of Johannes Brahms

Solo Piano



Blandine Waldmann, piano

| Programme

Johannes Brahms (1833 – 1897) 

Variations op. 21 nr.1 « Philosophic Variations  »

Three Intermezzi op.117

Fantasia op.116 n°7 Capriccio

Variations on a theme by Paganini op. 35 II


A Venetian emblem of romanticism, this is a biographical concert illustrating first of all the composer’s youthful years, marked by the relationship with his dear friend and fellow composer Clara Schumman. This musical journey then leads us on to one of his mature masterpieces: the three Intermezzi op. 117 and an extract from the op.116 from the same era. It then concludes with the three famous and virtuous ‘Variations on a Theme’ by Paganini.

This musical biographical journey highlights the three creative periods of the composer.


| Videos of the concert