| Paradox

Soprano, Piano and Orchestra


Francesco Gilio, conductor

Ruxandra Ibric Cioranu, soprano

Blandine Waldmann, piano

Finzi, Berg, Schumann

| Programme

Gerald Finzi (1901-1956)
The Fall of the Leaf – Elegy for Orchestra in D minor Op.20

Alban Berg (1885-1935)
“Sieben frühe lieder” for Soprano and Orchestra

Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra Op.54 in A minor

A bewildering and anachronistic programme which presents a conflict of styles.

These composers are brought together by the fact that they have not turned their backs on romanticism.

The paradox is created in finding the means of letting the romanticism evolve.

A programme rich in discoveries.