| Jubilation

Two Pianos


Lionel Bams, piano

Blandine Waldmann, piano

Slavic masterpieces for two pianos

Gorecki, Rachmaninov, Lutoslawski

| Programme

Henryk Gorecki (1933-2010)
Toccata (1955)

Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
Suite n°1 opus 5 « Fantaisie-Tableaux »
Suite n°2 opus 17

Witold Lutoslawski (1913-1994)
Variations on a theme by Paganini (1941)

At the heart of this programme: Sergei Rachmaninoff’s famous suites for two pianos. The first is dedicated to Tchaikovsky and is inspired by the poets Mikhail Lermontov, Lord Byron, Fyodor Tyutchev, Khomyakov and the second having notable echoes of his second piano concerto.

The two brilliant pieces from Gorecki and Lutoslawski highlight the jubilation expressed by these masterpieces for two pianos.